Department News


HOD: Dr. Sreela

Assistant professor 2
Duration UG 3 Year, PG 2 Year
Students UG 93, PG 32
Certificate Yes
Assessments Yes



The department of Geology offering First degree programme in BSc Geology and MSc Geology. Department was started during the academic year 1981-82. By the inspiration and initiation of Prof P.S Sathyadas, who was the principal of S. N College Varkala at that period and also realizing the geological importance of Varkala. On considering the potential of this course college had applied to the University for Geology as a new course. Accordingly twelve students were admitted to the first year of the three year BSC course in Geology in the year 1981-82.

We greatfully acknowledge the initiatives and efforts of Late Prof. P. Sathyadas, the then principal of the college in transforming the idea of starting a geology department in S.N college, Varkala a reality and his name goes in the history of the department as founder.

A special mention must be made at this juncture of those who had shown considerable interest in the development of this department. In addition to Prof. P.S. Sathyadas , RDC members Srila, Anandan, S. Raghavan and the successive principals namely Prof. V.R. Saraswathy and Prof. R Sukumary are thankfully acknowledged. The Geology main subject consists of theory practical and fieldworks. Chemistry and Mathematics subsidiary subjects and other papers are common as that of other graduation courses. The first few months went without a lecturer to handle geology classes. However subsidiary and language classes were engaged. In order 1981, Dr. Mathew K Jacob joined the department to teach Geology.

In the academic year 2003-2004University had increased the students strength of BSc Degree course from 14-24 seats. UG semesterization and grading system had commenced during the academic year 2010-11.

In the academic year 2013-14 MSc geology course was introduced. The first batch started with 4 students. Even though MSc course was introduced no permanent post were sanctioned by government, so two batch MSc students were engaged by the same BSc faculty members with additional five guest lecturers support.

Succession List of HODs

1. Dr. Mathew K Jacob 1981-1988
2. Smt. Sreelatha R.K 1988-1990
3. Dr. Mathew K Jacob 1990-1993
4. Sri Raju J 1993-1996
5. Dr. Mathew K Jacob 1996-2003
6. Sri Raju J 2003-2008
7. Dr. Mathew K Jacob 2008-2015
8. Mr. M D Ratheesh Kumar May 2015-June 2015
9. Smt. L. Neena 2015-2017
10. Dr. Sreela S R 2017---

List of teachers who worked in the department till date
Name of teacher Duration
Dr. Mathew K Jacob 1988-2015
Sri Raju J
Smt. Sreelatha R.K
Mr. M D Ratheesh Kumar
Smt. L. Neena
Dr. Sreela S R 2012--
Dr. Shynu R 2018--